and western offshore, and 3.8 million square kilometres in Yukon and Northwest Territories. Information: St. John's (709) 778-1400.

Ministers responsible:

Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development

Canada Post Corporation

Head office Sir Alexander Campbell Building Confederation Heights Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0B1

Divisional offices: Vancouver, Edmonton, Winnipeg, London, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Quebec, Halifax.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 952-1524.

Canada Post Corporation collects, sorts and delivers more than 6 billion pieces of mail yearly within Canada, and handles mail to and from more than 165 other countries around the world.

Minister responsible:

Minister responsible for the Canada Post Corporation (Minister of Regional Industrial Expansion)

Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women

110 O'Connor Street 9th Floor (PO Box 1541, Station B) Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5R5

Regional offices: Calgary, Montreal.

Local office: Winnipeg.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 992-4975.

The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women was established in 1973 to advise the federal government on issues affecting women and to promote public awareness on those issues. The Council liaises with national women's groups and provincial advisory councils on the status of women on a regular basis.

Minister responsible:

Minister responsible for the Status of Women

Canadian Aviation Safety Board

Head office Place du Portage, Phase II Hull, Quebec (Mail: PO Box 9120, Alta Vista Terminal, Ottawa, Ontario K1G 3T8)

Regional offices: Vancouver, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Toronto (Willowdale), Montreal (Dorval), Moneton.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (819) 994-3741.

Established in 1984, the Canadian Aviation Safety Board is an independent body whose objective is the advancement of aviation safety. The Board investigates aviation occurrences, reports publicly on its findings and makes recommendations designed to eliminate or reduce safety deficiencies. The Canadian Aviation Safety Board reports to

Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

Head office 1500 Bronson Avenue (PO Box 8478) Ottawa, Ontario K1G 3J5

Headquarters (English networks): Toronto, Headquarters (French networks): Montreal. Headquarters (International): Montreal,

Regional offices: (English): Vancouver, Edmonton, Regina, Winnipeg, Toronto, Ottawa (including Northern Service), Montreal, Halifax, St. John's.

Regional offices (French): Vancouver, Edmonton, Regina, Winnipeg, Toronto, Montreal, Quebec, Rimouski (for Eastern Quebec), Moncton.

Local offices: throughout Canada.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 724-1200.

The CBC is a publicly owned corporation established by an act of the Canadian Parliament to provide the national broadcasting service in Canada.

The CBC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Communications.

Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety

250 Main Street East Hamilton, Ontario L8N 1H6

Information: Hamilton (416) 572-2981 or toll-free 1-800-263-8276.

Occupational health and safety/information: the Centre is the national information resource in occupational health and safety. It is federally funded, and governed by a Council of Governors representing government (federal, provincial and territorial), labour and employers. The Centre gathers, analyses, interprets and disseminates